Our Vicar is Revd. Nick Heaton. He is licensed to the whole team, but has special responsibility for St David’s and also for All Saints in Netherthong Revd Geoff Bamford is Assistant Priest.


Churchwardens assist the vicar in running the parish; they are especially responsible for the church buildings, but work hard in many areas of the life of the church.

Our current wardens are:
Ann Short
Anne Macdonald

Government of the Church
The parish is governed by the Parochial Church Council (PCC), which comprises the clergy, representatives of the Readers (see above) and various other elected members of
the congregation.
The PCC meets regularly to oversee the overall running of the parish (including its finance) and to share in the decisionmaking with the Vicar.
Elections to the PCC take place each year in March or April at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM), which is the church’s ‘AGM’.
To be elected to the PCC or to vote in elections, you have to be on the church’s electoral roll, which is, effectively, the church’s membership list. For more information contact the Vicar or Churchwardens.

The Wider Team

  • Our Team Rector is Rev Canon Sean Robertshaw. He is based at New Mill andThurstonland. 
  • Revd. Keith Griffin is responsible for Holmfirth parish Church and for Hepworth. 
  • Revd. Di Ellerton is responsible for St John’s Upperthong
  • There are a number of retired clergy who also do vital work in the team.

Lay Leadership and Ministry
Our Team includes a number of lay leaders, Readers, and an administrator
St David’s also has:

Carolyn Burley - Pastoral Care Coordinator

Jean Chadwick - Organist and Choir director

Carole Heaton- Music Group Leader